Posted by Nick Aroutzidis on May 15, 2017
May 18, 2017:  Honour Student Banquet. The keynote speaker will be our own Katelyn Aitcheson.
This Week:  John Wright gave an entertaining classification talk today.  
John Wright giving his Classification Talk on Electrical Contracting
Born and raised in Toronto, John and his wife, Leslie, have had homes in both Toronto and Stratford for the last ten years but when the time came for retirement, they selected Stratford and sold the East York house (which is the best return on investment that John has ever experienced). 
John is the third-generation owner of Ontario Electrical Construction Company Limited (OEC).  Started by his Glaswegian grandfather in 1929 in Toronto just before the stock market crash, OEC grew under John’s father’s stewardship to locations in Niagara Falls, Oshawa, Montreal (sister company), Kingston, North Bay and Sudbury. 
OEC has been involved in many significant building projects, ranging from Roy Thomson Hall and Science North to the Sick Kids Research Tower and the large regional hospital campuses for Peterborough and North Bay. 
John is a passionate hockey fan (he bleeds blue and white) and big supporter of Stratford Summer Music and the Festival.  He finds Rotary’s hands-on community project approach appealing.  
John and Leslie have established a SP Community Foundation fund to support health & wellness projects for seniors. 
John and Leslie settling in to their new Stratford Community
John was introduced by Doug Thompson and thanked by Katelyn Aitcheson. 
We enjoyed your talk, John.
Scribe:  Charlene Gordon
Attendance Ribbons given to Dave Hunt and Roger Black.  Congradulations to both fo their milestones.
Dave Hunt being given his 2200 consecutive attendance ribbon
Guests: Today we welcomed
Draw: The draw prize today was donated by Anonymous donor and was won by.
Make-ups: No report
May’s Attendance Committee:   Katherine Hahn (I/C), Maryanne Cox, Rena Orr, Gregor Read, Gord Steed, Dave Scott, Cathy Thompson, Ed Dujlovic, Michael Selves, Gerry Thuss
June’s Attendance Committee: Ken Grosvenor (I/C), John Carruthers, Gary Lingard, Paul Siberry, Mimi Price, Brent Shackleton, Doug Page, Pat Feryn